Man-made Noise Kristian Eastwood MyOneManBand Edwina Hayes Horse Guards Parade Awash with Antler The Holy Orders Kingdom By The Sea The Cardboard Cutouts James Orwin BLack and Wwite Tango The Notebook
 The Cardboard Cutouts

9. The School in August 3.04
Lyrics: Philip Larkin
Music: Robert James Rowe
Produced: The Cardboard Cutouts/John Spence
Recorded: Fairview Studios, 19 April 2010

The Cardboard Cutouts are Rob Rowe (lead vocals/rhythm guitar), Liam Moor (lead guitar), Tom Catchpole (bass) and Matty Morgan (drums). Formed towards the end of 2008, and the youngest of the bands featured on this album, they are already making a name for themselves with appearances on local and national radio, including (in January 2010) a slot as House Band on the Annie Mac and Nick Grimshaw BBC Radio 1 Switch programme. Song titles such as 'My Dad's Not Michael Caine', 'FIFA Song', and 'Dotty P's' give some indication of what they're about.

On the day this track was recorded, the band were interviewed and filmed in the studio by BBC Look North, and photographed for a piece that appeared in the Hull Daily Mail of 28 April 2010.